Saschiz village is documented since 1308-1310. The village competed with Sighisoara, at that time, at “capital of the Saxons” chapter.
Saschiz is also hiding a couple of curiosities on the national and international level. Some of them are the fortified church and the peasant fortress which was built in 1347 by the Saxons.
The fortified church from Saschiz
The church is dated to be built since 1493 and was raised in honor of Stephen I of Hungary, appearing today as a UNESCO heritage.
In addition to their role of observation and bell tower, they should have several defense roles, as the church is in fact located at one strategic point of the area.
Tourism in Saschiz
In recent years, the tourism services have grown therefore the interests have been rising for the tourists from Romania and beyond its borders.
Saschiz village has a tourist information center for visitors to inform them about the area and to add accommodation.
Tourists can find artisanal works here and even food based on traditional recipes. Some local ones would be jams, honey, braided baskets and many other craftworks.
Biertan village is one of the first German settlements from Saxons in the Transylvanian area, being documented in 1283 and as fortress in 1397.
The main attractions of the village would be the fortified church built in a late Gothic style and the Donarium of Biertan which has the monogram of Jesus Christ.
The Biertan fortified church
This whole medieval complex formed from by the belt of fortifications and church, was built between 1490 and 1520.
The door of the sacristy was built by the locals of Biertan, being true passionate craftworkers, and it was awarded at The World Exhibition in Paris in 1900.
Tourism in Biertan
The main interest for tourists abroad is the traditional German settlement.
Biertan is one of those places which kept even nowadays the architectural concept with Germanic specificity related to the medieval period.
Above the market there was a fortress that can be seen from the distance. The fortress which attracts tourists’ eyes through the well-preserved fortress and by its unique appearance.
The village of Viscri managed to attract the attention of Prince Charles through its featured characteristics.
One of them is the renewed fortified church which was renovated by his foundation. Also, here in Viscri, Prince Charles managed to restore some of the splendor of the old houses.
The fortified church in Viscri
The church was built somewhere through the 13th century and was later taken over by the Saxons.
The construction characteristics raised the researcher’s interest over time, however, the mysteries correlated with this church have been solved, after diggings made in 1970-1971, under the supervision of the archeologist Mariana Dumitrache.
Tourism in Viscri
Viscri is much more than a tourist attraction. The village can be given as an example for the success story of rural tourism and the history it owns.
Those who already visited the village know that Viscri is a model and not the exception when it comes to the responsibility of tourism.
A settlement that is inhabited since the Middle Ages although some believe that it may have been populated since Roman times (106-274 AD) due to coins discovered on these lands dating from the time of the Maximinus Thrax and Antoninus Pius emperors.
The village of Rîmetea had a period of glory between the 17th and 18th centuries, reaching the status of a city, but from the 19th century it suffered a period of decline until the 20th century, reaching the status of a village located at the bottom of the Apuseni mountains.
In 1999 the village was awarded with Europa Nostra award due to the involvement and contributions of the locals and the NGOs involved in various projects that targeted the village.
Rîmetea village houses
From the long list of wonders of the village we would like to mention first of all, the 200 constructions that have preserved even today the traditional style in which they were originally built.
The oldest house in the village was built in 1668 and belongs to a local whose occupation was mining in the village. House that was renovated in 2004.
Tourism in Rîmetea
At the end of the 2000s, of all the tourists who visited this village, about 25% were from Romania and the rest were from abroad.
Foreign tourists came from countries like Czech Republic, Belgium, France, the Netherlands, Austria and of course Germany, but all of them represented only 20% of foreign tourists. Most of the tourists from abroad were from Hungary.
Although the population of Rîmetea village in 2011 was 584 inhabitants, in 2008 it was visited by about 14,000 tourists, and in the following years, their number increased.
Sic village was certified documentary in 1291, the year in which it was considered a free royal city
The village is one of the settlements where salt exploitation took place during ancient times.
The Romans extracted the salt through a very well-developed system but after their departure, these excavations turned into lakes.
Around the 1970s, the village of Sic was divided into 3 distinct zones (which were in fact streets) and in each of these areas was established a dance house where the villagers met to dance.
In 2011, this tradition becomes inscribed on the UNESCO list of Intangible Cultural Heritage as an urgent need for conservation.
Dance houses gave young people the opportunity to get to know each other better and to find a life partner. Young people were required to attend only the houses on the street where they lived because they were not allowed to choose a life partner unless they lived on the same street.
The Sic Thicket
This area is classified as the second largest reef area after the Danube Delta.
Here you can discover a lot of species of birds, plants and reptiles.
The thicket is crossed by a pontoon that is 1 km long. During it, there is 1 observation tower and 2 pavilions to admire the wonderful scenery or just to relax.
Tourism in Sic
Birdwatching enthusiasts would love this area, especially for the reef area where that observation tower is located.
Photography enthusiasts, whether professionals or amateurs, would be amazed by the images obtained in this area as some images may appear to be taken in tropical areas.
The local elders believe that the village dates back to the time of the giants and that Decebal would have hidden here his treasures from Trajan.
Sibiel has still kept a lot of old activities today such as: blacksmithing, horsemanship, carpentry, torsion, weaving, hosiery and many others, but the most famous is the painting of icons on glass.
In 1973 Sibiel was declared a tourist village along with other 13 localities.
The Museum of Icons on Glass from Sibiel
This museum was built according to a concept of the priest Zosim Oancea, who was financially supported by the residents of Sibiel and by some donors, despite the fact that he served 15 years in prison.
Currently this museum has 15 thousand visitors annually.
Tourism in Sibiel
The average number of tourists up to 2006 averages to 500 tourists per year, which, to this date, this number is increasing greatly due to the glass icon museum, the Holy Trinity church (18th century) and the monument of Romanian heroes.
Whether you are fascinated by the story of the three fortified churches in Transylvania or the beauty of the villages, enjoy the fame of these places in one of the tours organized by the CAO Tours & Events team: Discover Transylvania with us!